CS 3212: Algorithms

Coursework



About
Announcements
Modules
Coursework
FAQ


Java API

Important date In class    What's due Reading/etc
BEFORE the first class  
  1. Fill in the survey (sent to you before the first class).
  2. Read the About section.
  3. Understand how to get set up, and submit work
  4. Understand how learning occurs in this course.
  5. Read through these principles of commitment
  6. See info on teams/groupwork so that you can sit with your team in class.
Week 1: 8/27(a), 8/29(b) Module 1   Sit with your team.
Tue, Sept 3   Exercise 1 due 11.59pm
Email me your team song URL
Cormen book: Chapter 2 (pp.15-27), Chapter 3 (pp.41-54,56), Chapter 4 (pp.73-75).
Dasgupta book: Chapter 0.
Neapolitan book: Chapter 1.
Week 2: 9/3(c), 9/5(a) Module 2    
Fri, Sept 6   Module 1 exercises due 11.59pm
 
Mon, Sept 9   Exercise 2 due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapter 7 (pp.145-155), Chapter 8 (pp. 165-169).
Dasgupta book: Chapter 2 (pages 45-53).
Neapolitan book: Chapter 2 (pages 47-66), Chapter 7.
Week 3: 9/10(b), 9/12(c) Module 3    
Wed, Sept 11   Module 2 exercises due 11.59pm  
Mon, Sept 16   Assignment 1, Part I due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapter 12 (253-264), Chapter 13 (skim through).
Dasgupta book: Chapter 2, pp. 45-53.
Neapolitan book: Chapter 8, pp. 343-347.
See this Enumeration example (more detailed explanation in Module 6 of 2113
Week 4: 9/17(a), 9/19(b) Module 4    
Wed, Sept 18   Module 3 exercises due 11.59pm  
Mon, Sept 23   Assignment 1, part II due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapter 11 (pp.221-226, 229-232).
Dasgupta book: no material.
Neapolitan book: no material.
Week 5: 9/24(c), 9/26(a) Module 5    
Wed, Sept 25   Module 4 exercises due 11.59pm Answers to your questions
Mon, Sept 30   Exercise 3 due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapter 32.
Dasgupta book: no material.
Neapolitan book: no material.
This posting or article.
Week 6: 10/1(b), 10/3(c) Module 6, Module 7   More answers to your questions
Wed, Oct 2   Module 5 exercises due 11.59pm  
Mon, Oct 7   Assignment 2, part I due 11.59pm  
Week 7: 10/8(a), 10/10(b) Module 7    
Mon, Oct 14   Assignment 2, part II due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapter 22.
Dasgupta book: Chapter 3.
Neapolitan book: Chapter 4, pp.145-151.
Week 8: 10/15(c), 10/17(a) Module 8   Material on networks
Wed, Oct 16   Module 7 exercises due 11.59pm  
Mon, Oct 21   Exercise 4 due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapters 23-25.
Dasgupta book: Chapter 4, Chapter 5 (pp. 127-137).
Neapolitan book: Chapter 4, pp.151-166.
Wed, Oct 23      
Week 9: 10/22(b), 10/24(c) Module 9 NO CLASS 10/22 (Fall Break)  
Mon, Oct 28   Exercise 5 due 11.59pm Cormen book: Chapters 15.
Dasgupta book: Chapter 6, pp. 156-158.
Neapolitan book: Chapter 3, pp.91-124.
Week 10: 10/29(a), 10/31(b) Module 10    
Wed, Oct 30   Module 8 exercises due 11.59pm
Start Exercise 6 early!
 
Mon, Nov 4   Exercise 6: submit-problems due 11.59pm  
Week 11: 11/5(c), 11/7(a) Module 11   Cormen book: Chapters 34, 35.
Dasgupta book: Chapters 8, 9.
Neapolitan book: Chapter 9.
Mon, Nov 11   Exercise 6: review-problems due 11.59pm
Week 12: 11/12(b), 11/14(c) Module 11,
Module 10/11 Review
  Cormen book: Chapter30.
Dasgupta book: Chapter 2, pp. 58-69.
Neapolitan book: no material
Mon, Nov 18   Exercise 6: submit-solution due 11.59pm
Module 9 exercises 9.1-9.3, Module 10 exercises due 11.59pm
 
Week 13: 11/19(a), 11/21(b) Module 14    
Mon, Nov 25   Exercise 6: review-solutions due 11.59pm
Module 11 exercises (11.1-11.9 and 11.11) due 11.59pm
Links to solutions (see each medium problem)
Week 14: 11/26(c) TBD    
Mon, Dec 2, 11.59pm   Assignment 3 due 11.59pm  
Week 15 (12/3, 12/5) Module 12      
Fri, Dec 6      
Mon, Dec 9  
Remaining module exercises due 11.59pm:
Module 12 (12.1-3, 12.7), Module 14 (14.1-24).  
 
Tue, Dec 10   Exercise 6: interview
Important: this will be in Tompkins-405 2-5pm
 
Wed, Dec 11   Read: What next?