I am currently a Full Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the George Washington University, which I joined in September 1997. I received the PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Washington at Seattle in 1997. My dissertation was titled "All-optical networks with sparse wavelength conversion", and was directed by Prof. Arun Somani. Prior to that, I obtained the MSEE degree from Tulane University, New Orleans, in 1993, after I completed a Master's thesis titled "Sea-floor characterization using texture". I obtained the B.E. degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering from the College of Engineering, Anna University, Chennai, India, in 1988. My academic experience also includes a year as a research student in the Electrical Communication Engineering department at the Indian Institute of Science in 1990-91.

In the middle of my academic career, I had a couple of short stints in industry. Between 1988 and 1990, I was an R&D Hardware Engineer at HCL Ltd. learning the basics of computer hardware design and some serious assembly language programming. Later, during the course of my doctoral study, I spent the summer of 1996 as an intern in the Optical Communications Group at MIT Lincoln Lab. During my sabbatical, I spent the 2003-2004 academic year visiting the ECE Department at the University of Maryland (College Park) and the Spring and Summer semesters of 2014 in the EECS Department at MIT.

Networking is my main area of research. I am interested in network architectures, algorithms, and performance modeling issues. My work has been funded by several agencies such as NSF, DARPA, and NSA. I am a Fellow of the IEEE, and received the 2017 Distinguished Researcher Award from the George Washington University's School of Engineering and Applied Science.

On the personal side, I was born in Bhadravati, a small town in the state of Karnataka in India. My parents spent time in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh before settling down in Madurai (Tamilnadu) where I completed my high school studies. My parents still live there. I'm married to Deepa who is an Assistant Professor of Hematology-Oncology and the Director of Neuro-Oncology at Georgetown University Hospital. When I'm not working or spending time with my family, I enjoy a variety of activities. I'm a sports fan, with cricket and tennis being my top interests. I like solving puzzles in general - KenKen, Sudoku, Kakuro, crosswords, etc., besides enjoying several genres of movies and music, with South Indian Carnatic music being a particular favorite. For the past several years, I have coached an FLL robotics team of bright (and boisterous!) elementary and middle school students.

My full CV (last updated Sep. 2017) is here.